top of page
Search
  • melmtz24

EDLD 5302 Reflection

Updated: Jun 19, 2022


The desire to become a better teacher and create a more personalized, engaging learning environment for my students led me to the Digital Learning and Leading program at Lamar University. I was not prepared for, nor expected, the rigorous and authentic learning I experienced in my first course, Concepts of Educational Technology. Through the CSLE+COVA approach, I was immersed in a flexible, learner-centered environment that completely shifted the way I approach learning.

I've always believed that learning is a journey, and, as such, I needed directions to get where I was going. I never questioned who provided the directions or the route they told me to take - isn't that why they're the teacher? But relying on a teacher is like being in the passenger seat of a car ride. I got to where I was going (yay, checkmark!), but I can't really tell you how I got there. As Harapnuik (2016) explains, maps are great tools that DIRECT you how to get where you're going, not so great if you want to LEARN. The COVA approach puts the learner in the driver's seat of their own learning. You get an old school map, you know...the paper one that unfolds like an unwieldy sheet in the wind, and a destination. No GPS, no turn-by-turn directions, you choose your own route. I was not used to nor comfortable with this. Needless to say, without the designated driver, I was unsure of myself the first few weeks of class. All the more reason to begin with a growth mindset.

I was perplexed the first week of class as we began the course with the power of a growth mindset. "What does a growth mindset have to do with educational technology concepts?" I asked myself. Everything I soon learned. Tasked with creating my own growth mindset plan, I learned that cultivating a growth mindset allows you accept every obstacle, setback, or failure as a learning opportunity. If I were to take control of my learning, then I needed a repertoire of strategies to navigate the journey (Dweck,2020). A growth mindset is all about believing you can develop your skills and abilities (Dweck,2007). Individuals with a growth mindset see challenges as opportunities to learn. Here I was doubting myself, and, unbeknownst to me at the time, the most useful tool was presented at the beginning of the journey. I could choose to remain stuck, directionless, in my fixed mindset, or I could carry the growth mindset with me and use it as my compass. I'm glad I chose the latter. Being able to recognize how you approach learning something new, with a growth or a fixed mindset, allows you to take control of your learning. As I continue in the DLL program, practicing a growth mindset will be the most important tool I can use to help me find other paths, try new skills, and see things from a different perspective without being afraid to make a mistake.

By the third week of class, I became more comfortable with the COVA approach and gained some confidence in my self-directed learning. Being the the driver's seat has allowed me to synthesize all the information from the course and make connections to my real- world classroom. Although I was unsure at the beginning, the opportunity to choose my path and use my voice in the projects led me to take ownership of my learning. With every assignment I was beginning to wonder how can I apply this concept in my classroom? Wait! Why should I use this concept in my classroom? And as if on cue, the learning manifesto assignment appears. The learning manifesto is our personal mission statement and ongoing plan of improvement within our classrooms and organizations. One of the questions we were asked to consider for this assignment was what is most important - the what, the how, or the why of learning? I believe the why, the motivation, of learning is most important. The what or how of learning doesn't matter if the learning doesn't add value to our lives (November, 2011). As Pink (2010) talks about in The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us, there are three components of motivation that drive behavior...autonomy, mastery, and purpose. I became more motivated and took ownership of my learning when I had autonomy and found purpose in my assignments. The COVA learning approach will continue to impact my learning because I know it creates intrinsic motivation and leads to purposeful work.

The most valuable lesson I have learned thus far is to trust the process. After some trepidation, I was able to experience and and fully understand what a true learner-centered environment looks like. I completed the first leg of my new learning journey with guidance from my instructor, collective learning with my classmates, and a new appreciation for discovery. In the spirit of discovery, I will continue this journey with the help of my learning networks. As Alan November (2011) stated, peer exchange is essential for learning. I hope to use this ePortfolio as way to reflect on my learning, engage with others, and share my knowledge.


References:


Dweck, C. (2020, April 02). Carol Dweck Revisits the 'Growth Mindset'. Retrieved November 25, 2020, from https://www.edweek.org/ew/articles/2015/09/23/carol-dweck-revisits-the-growth-mindset.html


Dweck, C. (2007). Mindset The New Psychology of Success. Ballantine Books.


Harapnuik, Dwayne. “Mapping Your Learner's Journey.” Harapnuik.org, 16 June 2016, www.harapnuik.org/?p=6420.


November, Alan. TEDxNYED - Alan November - 03/05/2011. 25 Mar. 2011, www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebJHzpEy4bE.


Pink, Daniel. RSA ANIMATE: Drive: The Surprising Truth about What Motivates Us. 1 Apr. 2010, www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6XAPnuFjJc.
















18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ownership

As I progress in the development of my ePortfolio, I'm beginning to gain a deeper understanding of student ownership. The idea that a...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page